Thanks, long overdue (Part 1)

It has been a insane whirlwind of the last 3 months for me. But yet I cannot bear to forget the goodness I’ve received from God over the past year. This is long, long overdue, but I’d like to show my appreciation for the wonderful people God has brought to my life during my journey as a chef on wheels.

IMG_0605

The motley crew I assembled on my first assignment.

The person I really want to thank here is Jiawei (second from right). It has been a pleasure and honour to meet someone like me, young, ambitious, and more importantly passionate about food. He is studying Business at SMU now, but has somehow found the time and drive to set up a cafe within the school premises as well. I’d had the pleasure to help out in the first week. His passion for food has also brought him to Le Cordon Bleu, Sydney, where he completed the Basic Cuisine course, and even to the kitchens of Les Amis as an intern. He has taught me many tips and tricks about food as well, so thank you Jiawei, I hope to work alongside you in the industry one day (:

IMG_0700

Cooking for my brother’s friends

Next up, Joanne, the lovely girl in blue, and also in the first photo (centre). Thank you so much Joanne, for your kindness and love. You lent me your car for my first client, and I busted a red light straight after. Also, for very kindly followed me home after my first assignment was over to bake and help out with some orders I had too. Can’t ask for more. She came along with me for two other assignments as well, and the use of her car is very much appreciated. Thanks so much to you and Aunty Sally for bringing me to FHA too, it was such an eye-opener to visit a trade show and see what the industry is like. I’ll remember your kindness (: Perhaps with more chocolate macarons if you aren’t already sick of them.

There are also so many others who contributed and touched my heart, but unfortunately I don’t really have photos to show for it. Tim, thanks for coming along even though cooking isn’t really your thing. You brought much fun and laughter. Si Ling, thanks for being nice and patient, doing cleaning up, wiping dishes etc, learn some Canto dishes and cook for us next time! Thank you Joseph, Jasmine, Daphne, Claudia and Jiahui for the various times you people came along to help out.

Having these people help me keeps me grounded and reminds me of how little I achieve on my own. Truly thankful for these blesséd people God has brought to me. I reserve another post to thank another group of special people!

Leave a comment